Where Do I Fit?

Luke 10:38-42 NRSV

 Now as they went on their way, he entered a certain village, where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home. She had a sister named Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to what he was saying.  But Martha was distracted by her many tasks; so she came to him and asked, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to do all the work by myself? Tell her then to help me.”  But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and distracted by many things;  there is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part, which will not be taken away from her.”

Acts 18:24-26

24 Now there came to Ephesus a Jew named Apollos, a native of Alexandria. He was an eloquent man, well-versed in the scriptures. 25 He had been instructed in the Way of the Lord; and he spoke with burning enthusiasm and taught accurately the things concerning Jesus, though he knew only the baptism of John. 26 He began to speak boldly in the synagogue; but when Priscilla and Aquila heard him, they took him aside and explained the Way of God to him more accurately.

1 Corinthians 12:12-13 NRSV

12 For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ. 13 For in the one Spirit we were all baptized into one body—Jews or Greeks, slaves or free—and we were all made to drink of one Spirit.

 

Isaiah 43:18-19

Do not remember the former things, or consider the things of old.  I am about to do a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?

 

Psalm 96:1-4

O sing to the Lord a new song; sing to the Lord, all the earth.
Sing to the Lord, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day.
Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples.
For great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; he is to be revered above all gods.

John 4:24-26

God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.”  The woman said to him, “I know that Messiah is coming” (who is called Christ). “When he comes, he will proclaim all things to us.” Jesus said to her, “I am he, the one who is speaking to you.”

 

Are you open to a new thing that God is doing in your life? Is it scary? Uncomfortable?

Do you doubt God has a place for you in that new thing?

Several years ago the church I was serving agreed to study a book called Who Moved My Cheese? This is a book about change and dealing with it in our lives. I had previously studied it when I was working for a Fortune 500 company. Together we talked about the fear of stepping out into ‘the new’ and the anxiety it sometimes caused. One of the questions posed at the end of that book is “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?”

We posted that question in foot high letters on the wall of the fellowship hall. Every time we gathered for any reason the question was there before us…reminding us to think about the future…reminding us to consider the possibilities. My hope was that in this study our congregation would be encouraged and emboldened to do a new thing and be church in a new way.

Since that time that congregation has indeed made some real changes in how they are and do ‘church’. But that question, as it turns out, had a real impact on me while I was trying to have an impact on the congregation. When it was suggested to me by more than one person that serving as executive director for Disciples Women was a ‘fit’ I resisted. But that question and my trusted few made me reconsider and re-reconsider…and I submitted my papers…and, answered my call to serve women’s ministries.

Where do you fit in women’s ministries?

What are you resisting? Why are you resisting?

What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

Do you know that God is in control?

When I watch a movie or a television show I absolutely do not want to know the ending…I do not want someone to spoil the movie by telling me the ending. Watching I find myself intent, almost “IN” the movie, reacting as if it were really happening.  When I know the end, my experience is quite different…I am not worried about the lead actress, whether or not she will survive or succeed, because I already know how it turns out.

Women of God, you know how this story ends. You know that God has the last word. Why are we so afraid of the new thing God is doing when we know who is writing the story, when we know who is in control of the end?

“I know that the Messiah is coming” (who is called Christ), sent by God who is the author of the beginning and the end. Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised.

May God bless every act of courage and boldness in sharing the gifts God has generously given you that women of God (and all God’s children) will know they are truly loved and cherished.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

